Career Pathways

Helping students make informed decisions about their career and post-secondary studies. Guiding industry partners by creating and aligning educational opportunities based on their unique workforce needs.

What is WBL Career Pathways Program?

White Bear Lake Area High School students enrolled in Career Pathway courses learn industry-specific skills and, in some courses may earn free college credit and industry-recognized credentials. Students are involved in engaging, hands-on classroom and field experiences, such as internships, job shadows, connecting with local industry professionals, touring local business, and other experiential learning opportunities. Career Pathways participants develop essential skills and experience needed to either enter the workforce directly with a high-paying career or further their education.

Why Career Pathways?

The WBL Career Pathways program lays the foundation for students to excel in life beyond graduation, whether through continued education or a meaningful career.  

Academic Year Opportunities

Learn how you can get involved with WBL Career Pathways HERE.

Check out the Career Pathways brochure to learn about all of the exciting opportunities happening in the 2019-2020 school year!

Internships

Internships are created to benefit students' learning experiences, address workforce issues in pathway industries, and enhance the classroom learning experience at WBLAHS.

  • Create Space - FILLED
    • Paid, Marketing Internship
    • Job Description HERE
  • Firefly Computers - 23 HS students have been hired and 11 WBL graduates are returning this year!
    • Seasonal & Technical Warehouse Internship
    • Learn how to apply HERE.
    • Must be 16 years old and have own transportation
  • Gen Z Connections - Watch the 2019 Video
    • Gen Z Connections is a paid, summer internship in the Manufacturing/Engineering & Automotive Industries.
    • Selected students rotate through 4 employers, 4 days a week, 4 hours a day. Students receive OSHA certification  and employability skills training.
  • MN Trades Academy - 6 students were hired this year!
    • Application window is closed for Summer 2019.
    • 500+ students have applied, about 100 students are hired. Stay tuned for selected students.
    • 8 week internships, 2 tracks, paid
  • MN Department of Transportation - Phoenix Program - FILLED
    • Up to 24 STEM internships are available for students who are 16+ years old.
    • Learn how to apply HERE.
  • Monarch Healthcare Management - FILLED
    • Apply HERE
    • (2)  Healthcare Human Resources Interns
    Summer Tech Depot - 31 students were hired this year!
    • Apply HERE.
    • Summer, paid internship with WBLAS.
    • For high school students. IT Career Pathway students are encouraged to apply.

Summertime Opportunities

Students are offered the opportunity to participate in summer camps, job shadows, employment and hands-on experiences in collaboration with our educational and industry partners.

Contact Career Pathways Navigator Jenny Moore for information about the following opportunities:

  • Full- and Part-time employment
  • Job Shadows
  • Volunteering

In the News

WBL Career Pathways in the News

Information for Career Pathways Industry Partners

The district works with Career Pathways Industry Partners to create and align educational opportunities based on partners' workforce needs.

Opportunities include but are not limited to:

  • apprentice readiness
  • employment
  • field trips
  • guest speaking
  • internships
  • job site tours
  • scholarships
  • sponsorships
  • student visits in The College & Career
  • summer camps

Email Jenny Moore (jennifer.moore@isd624.org) to get involved

Email Julie Anderson (julie.anderson@isd624.org) to sign up for a time slot in The College & Career Center!

2019 Career Pathways Expo CLICK HERE TO REGISTER

 

Upcoming Events

October 2019
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Sun, Sep 29
Mon, Sep 30
Tue, Oct 1
Wed, Oct 2
Thu, Oct 3
Fri, Oct 4
Sat, Oct 5
Sun, Oct 6
Mon, Oct 7
Tue, Oct 8
Wed, Oct 9
Thu, Oct 10
Fri, Oct 11
Sat, Oct 12
Sun, Oct 13
Mon, Oct 14
Tue, Oct 15
Wed, Oct 16
Thu, Oct 17
Fri, Oct 18
Sat, Oct 19
Sun, Oct 20
Mon, Oct 21
Tue, Oct 22
Wed, Oct 23
Thu, Oct 24
Fri, Oct 25
Sat, Oct 26
Sun, Oct 27
Mon, Oct 28
Tue, Oct 29
Wed, Oct 30
Thu, Oct 31
Fri, Nov 1
Sat, Nov 2